Selection of studies composed by

Vladimir I. Neistadt

(Russia, 28.11.1950)


Vladimir I. Neistadt was born on November 28, 1950 in the village of Chernigovka (Chanovsky District, Novosibirsk Region, Western Siberia).

He studied in the secondary school no.3 in Uglich, Yaroslavl region.

In 1964, as a sixth grader he published his first endgame study in “Pionerskaya Pravda” newspaper, in the section managed by a chess master Vasily Panov.
He acquired his skills from Alexander P. Kuznetsov, the international chess master (1913- 1982).

A grand-nephew of his full namesake Vladimir I. Neishtadt (1898-1959), who was a famous chess journalist, historian, composer of chess studies, poet and translator of the 30-s.
Since 1966, Vladimir Neishtadt has lived in Barnaul, South-Western Siberia.

He worked at various factories of the city as a general labourer, turner and electrician. In 1970-1972 served in the army in the Trans-Baikal region.

Graduated from the faculty of journalism at the Ural state university named after A.M. Gorky.
Published about 250 compositions, mostly endgame studies.

Over 100 distinctions at various competitions. 12 first and second prizes.

Participated in the tournament of the century "USSR vs. Rest of the World", ranked 17-th in the 1st theme.
USSR championships results: 9th (1969) – ranked 14 out of 17,11th (1973) – 6 out of 14, 20th Russian championship (2010-2013) – 9 out of 17.
For almost 40 years Vladimir Neishtadt has been a content writer and editor of the section "Game Room 64+" in "Altaiskaya Pravda" regional newspaper.
Besides, for many years V. Neishtadt has been researching biographies of legendary Soviet chess composers and writing feature stories about them. Colleagues may read them at the
leading Russian chess portal, where 14 articles have already been published under the common heading "Whatever destiny – each one’s a tragedy":

Other information about him on two UAPA1 links UAPA2.

(All his studies, more exact dates, possible corrections or cooks and exact details about sources can be found in the

Harold van der Heijden (HHdbVI))

 At YouTube Suren presents a great study of him.


He published in Barnaul the book «Whatever destiny – each one’s a tragedy» in 2019:

In this book are compositions of many famous Soviet composers like Alexei Troitsky, Leonid Kubbel, Abram Gurvich, Alexander Herbstman, Sergey Kaminer, Evgeny Somov-Nasimovich and others.


At the leading Russian chess portal, where 20 articles have already been published under the common heading "Whatever destiny – each one’s a tragedy": 

This article is about Selesniev